Preshute Parish Council

Email: clerk@preshutepc.org.uk

Welcome to the Preshute Parish website where you should find the information you need about our rural Wiltshire countryside parish. Located on the Marlborough Downs and entirely within in the North Wessex Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, we are a rural community of some 193 residents. The focus is on farming, forestry and preserving the heritage of our historic countryside, while there is a busy business park on the Bath Road at Clatford. The  parish includes the Manton House Estate (home to two internationally renowned horse racing yards), the Temple Farm Estate and unspoiled beauty of Barton Dene. We border Manton and the communities of Barton Park and College Fields in the east and Lockeridge lays to the west. Our southern border takes in the unmatched West Woods and the Wansdyke. 

The most recent claim to international fame came with the appearance of Manton House yards in the blockbuster Netflix series The Crown. Preshute continues to champion an unmatched stage to the drama and heritage of the English countryside at its finest. 

This website is designed to provide easy to access information about how the Parish Council works, our services, projects and activities, local events and links to other websites. You will find contact details for your Councillors and our Clerk below.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Help available for affected Preshute parishioners

Preshute Parish Council have organised a helpline for parishioners who find themselves having to self-isolate.

The Helpline will allow those with a real need
and who have nowhere else to turn to with the following:

Collecting and delivering groceries

Collecting prescriptions

The Helpline is available between 9am to 6pm everyday until the crisis has passed

The number is 07798 948237

or email: preshutehelpline@outlook.com

Please note that this is a voluntary service.

If you are well and want to help us deliver this community service 
please contact us at the email address above.

NHS advice on Coronavirus COVID-19

Latest government update regarding COVID-19, 14th May 2020


Following the Prime Minister’s announcement on 10th May, the Government has issued a raft of new guidance and advice on its website https://www.gov.uk/coronavirus, some of which can be read by clicking the following links here:


The reopening of schools and other education settings from 1 June

Guidance for safety of passengers using transport network

Public advice to cover face in enclosed spaces

Guidance on spending time outdoors

Latest George Lane Surgery updates

Click on 'Local News' in the menu bar above

Wiltshire Council Wellbeing Hub

This is a useful starting point if you want more information about any aspect of community and volunteer packs, food parcels, support available, etc.


Beware scammers and cold callers!

It is sad to have to say this, but if you need help, either in Manton or in Preshute, please be careful of doorstep scammers. In particular, be wary of unsolicited individuals calling at your door offering to buy groceries, collect prescriptions, offering to sell you virus testing kits or other essentials. Do not give them money or your credit card! If in doubt call the helplines on the notices you have received through your letterboxes

Preshute Parish Council

Principal Contacts                         Accessibility 

Clerk: Sophie Roberts

Email: clerk@preshutepc.org.uk

Tel: 01672 861262

Chair: Peter Morgan

Email: chair@preshutepc.org.uk

Preshute Parish Councillors

Cllr Peter Morgan (Chair)

Cllr Simon Mills

Cllr Philippa Pearson

Cllr Joy Penn

Cllr Hugh Wroth

Cllr Ian Wroth

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.